7.29.2013

Super Fun

Recently, my husband and I attended a very dear friend's 40th birthday party. As you can see from the pictures below, this was not your average run-of-the-mill celebration. The invitation clearly stated that we were to arrive dressed as superheroes. 

We all took this mission very seriously and of course, as soon as I heard "dress up", I knew my costume had to be something fashion related. Hence, Super Shopping Girl was born. Needless to say, the birthday boy was Super surprised and it was a Super fun party!  Who says superheroes are just for kids? Not my friends! 

I know this is not one of my normal fashion posts, but every once in a while you just have to let your super silly side out and share it with the world!




Super Shopping Girl with her Silver Surfer(everyone thought he was supposed to be my mannequin)



The cake was made by a very talented teenager Holly Silva //Interior designer and wife of the birthday boy was dressed as Super Swatch Girl//No Super Hero party would be  complete without candy Kryptonite.


Socks with capes attached! Love!!//Clark Kent yucking it up with Super Swatch Girl//The punisher and The Flash//Super Mom and Bat Girl.
The dynamic duo Batman and Robin//Super girl and another version of Bat girl// Super Jack and Super Cade(their kids names, so cute!)//Little Red Target Girl and her Viking husband//Super Husband and Wife.


Have a Super Monday everyone!







Photo layouts courtesy of Pic Frame app

Super "S" logo photo courtesy of europosters.eu

7.26.2013

Something about Sam


There is something about the Sam Edelman brand that I am absolutely obsessed with.
If you are like me, you have that favorite "go-to" piece that is loyally standing by as back up, just in case you are ever in a pinch with an outfit. My"go-to"has been my Gigi sandals which I have been living in all summer. They are chic, comfortable and worth every penny.  I've worn them with shorts, skinny jeans, boyfriend jeans and several of my maxi dresses. 

Even though they are exactly the same style sandal, they all seem to have very different personalities. Yes, I did just say my shoes have personalities, don't judge. I have never seen one specific style shoe have so many different options as far as texture and color combinations. There's a "Gigi" for everyone! 

With over 30 years in the shoe business, Sam Edelman (and don't forget his wife Libby) know what they're doing when it comes to shoes. They combine high end quality, style and comfort with affordable pricing. What more could a girl want? In fact, I may have to take another trip to Nordstrom Rack this weekend to add to my collection.




Sam Edelman Gigi sandal// first pair was an in store purchase at Shoe-Inn // All others: in store purchase at Nordstrom Rack $39.97.


                                                                Happy Weekend!
                                                                Happy Shopping!
                                                                Happy Feet!
                         


   

7.23.2013

Faux Real


Top~ Tindsley Road~here//Jeans~Guess~similar here//Shoes~Vince Camuto~similar here//Clutch~Steve Madden~similar here//Sunglasses~Ray-Ban~here//Ring~Lia Sophia~similar here//Bracelets~H&M in store purchase~similarhere//Watch~Avon~similar here


I love peplum tops in general, but I particularly love the newest edition to my collection. It's so versatile and light, that it can be worn in the warmer months just on it's own, or as a layering piece in the fall and winter. It's comfortable, beautifully constructed and fully lined so it won't stick to you. The bonus is that it's the look of leather without the heaviness, and so reasonably priced. The options are endless! Stay tuned for the fall edition on how to wear it.






Shorts~American Eagle~here//Bracelets~Mimi Boutique~here//Shoes~Steve Madden~here.




Photos courtesy of Piperlime,  American Eagle, Mimi Boutique, and Macy's

7.20.2013

Flyaway Free


Those of you who know me well, are quite familiar with my hair product obsession. In fact, there are so many half used bottles on my shelf, I could probably start my own salon! 
My styling routine is pretty intense as far as heat goes, and my flyways were out of control. I tried everything from hair oil and vaseline to, believe it or not, lip gloss!  I was desperate, and nothing was working, until I found this little gem.

John Frieda's full repair flyaway tamer is hair happiness in a tube and every girl should have one in her beauty arsenal, especially now, during the most humid weeks of the summer. 
The Omega 3 rich, lightweight, non-greasy, formula makes application a breeze and in return gives you a beautiful polished look. It's also safe for chemically treated and colored hair, and the best part, is that you can take it with you and reapply as needed. So don't go another day without this product, and the rest of  your summer will be smooth sailing.

Product update:

**This product is no longer available and I have been searching frantically for a replacement. In the interim I have been using Shape It from The European Wax Center (for brows), which has been working pretty well. However today during my hair appointment, my stylist gave me the One N' Only De-frizz wand to try, and I love it!!! 

Reading this post again makes me miss my long hair. Time to start growing it again.

Have a great hair day!! 
 

cosmetic bag~J.Crew~similar here// favorite lip balm~Smith's strawberry Baumeà  Lèvres Fraise~here//Lip color ~ Bobby Brown lip color in brownie~here

                                                            Have a great weekend!




Photo courtesy of Ulta

Disclosure: The opinions expressed herein are those of the author and are not indicative of the opinions or positions of the John Frieda brand.

7.15.2013

80's Love

I'm always looking for ways to channel my inner 80's girl through fashion. So when I scored these jeans at Marshall's I was ecstatic! My husband took one look at me and asked if I was actually going to wear them out, and I was "like, um, like totally!"( I Think he was having a hard time getting past the brightness), which is what drew me to them in the first place!  They just scream 80's (in a good way). Add a pair of Ray-Ban wayfarer's and a little Duran Duran and I'm a happy girl!
Current and Elliot skinny jean~ Marshall's in store purchase ($49.99)~ here// Top ~Qi (old) 2 Anny's Consignment Boutique//Sandals~my go to Sam Edelman GiGi~in store purchase at Nordstrom Rack~similar here//Bag~ Coach~here on sale now, lucky girl!//Sunglasses~Ray-Ban~here//Watch~Avon( $19.99)~ similar here// Bracelet (old)~ this one would work//Ring~ Lia Sophia~ similar here// Necklace~ my dad's arrowhead necklace from the 70's(priceless) similar here.

7.10.2013

The Scent Of Luxury






What I'm wearing: dress ~ Vince Camuto here// shoes (you can't see) ~ Zara N/A similar here// Bag~ Coach here on sale now.






It's been a little over a month since our FABulous trip to Vegas and I still have thoughts of our luxurious stay at the Wynn Tower Suites swirling around in my head. It's hard to come down from the "scentsory" overload. Yes, I meant to spell it that way because that is exactly what I experienced for an entire week. 

So naturally, while looking through one of my many fashion magazines and my thoughts being on the extravagance of our vacation I unexpectedly discovered a beautiful fragrance by Cartier called Baiser Volé Eau to de Toilette.  It is PURE luxury! 

The clean, crisp, light, Lily scent is perfect for summer.( I love it so much I will most likely be wearing it into the winter months as well.) I was pleasantly surprised about how it smelled on me especially since I am usually drawn to more citrusy notes. Everything from the packaging to the fragrance itself is pure perfection. Kudos to Mathilde Laurent, Cartier's in house perfumer for creating this scent!  

When it comes to choosing a new perfume, I am very picky, so before actually purchasing a fragrance that I like,  I get a sample to first see how it will compliment my own body chemistry. I wore this one for about a week to really get the full effect even though I was hooked from the first spritz and new I was going buy it.

You all have your own signature style in fashion and that should be reflected in your fragrance as well. Choosing a scent that is going to make you feel fancy everyday and not just on special occasions is definitely worth the splurge.

 Now go get your scent on girls!





Disclosure: The opinions expressed herein are those of the author and are not indicative of the opinions or positions of Cartier.



Cartier image courtesy of Nordstrom



7.07.2013

Reminiscing





As the holiday weekend comes to a close, I find myself feeling very sentimental. There is something so nostalgic about a local parade. I have been coming to the The Ridgewood 4th of July parade every year since I was a little girl. There is such a sense of community as the neighboring towns come together to celebrate our country's history and beliefs, and to honor the lives of those who have gone before us and given of themselves to make this country what it is today, "the land of the free and the home of the brave".  I love it here and I'm extremely proud to call myself a "Jersey Girl!"


                   


Top ~ Apostrophe ~ Sears (2 years ago) $14.99.// Shorts ~Joe's~ Marshalls $29.99  similar here. //Shoes ~ Sam Edelman ~ Shoe in (in store purchase) N/A try here.// Hat from a friend  similar here. //Sunglasses ~ Valentine's gift from my hubby. Here. // Tote ~ Neiman Marcus gift with purchase. Similar here. //Necklace ~ Lia Sophia. Here .// Watch ~ Michael Kors~ gift from my hubby. Here. //Bracelet~from my grandmother's jewelry box.                                                               





Dress~Windsor here. (Unfortunately it's out of stock but it's worth checking out their site anyway.) Sandal ~Sam Edelman here.  Necklace $25.00 ~ in store purchase from 2 Anny's consignment boutique. Here.  I hope you all enjoyed your long weekend. Happy Summer!
Pin It button on image hover